Happy Thanksgiving from Barcelona

Shelby, Dawson and I celebrated Thanksgiving on Thursday with mashed potatoes, three types of ham, cheese, bread, salad and mini pumpkin pies. It definitely felt different than home, but we made do. Tonight, I’m going to a new friend’s place for a second Thanksgiving – and crossing my fingers it includes more pumpkin-flavored goodies, as I’ve already eaten the leftovers of mine.

In honor of Thanksgiving (which fell on the 22nd this year), here are 22 things I’m thankful for (in no particular order):

1. long walks, short runs & park benches
2. new beginnings
3. kind strangers
4. cafe con leche
5. hot showers, a warm bed, cozy sweaters (things that keep me warm)
6. hot showers (again), hand sanitizer, toothpaste (things that keep me clean)
7. books, blogs & Twitter (things that keep my mind – and heart – going)
8. girl friends who support me, send me emails, call me up, check in on my Spanish adventures, collect me from the airport, let me cry, make me laugh (I’m especially looking at you, Shelby, Rachel, Jill, Tracy, Stephanie, Mary, and Emmaline, and there are so many more who have been so kind and wonderful, especially during these last few, up-in-the-air months. Thank you, friends.)
9. yoga
10. chocolate & wine & cold IPA & Jo Malone perfume (things that feel indulgent)
11. generous, patient, forgiving parents
12. perspective
13. wifi
14. music & dancing
15. my memory, selective and flawed though it may be
16. good pens, pretty notebooks
17. second chances
18. plane tickets (especially ones to Paris)
19. my flatmate
20. honesty that doesn’t depend on timing, but just is
21. sunshine
22. acceptance

3 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving from Barcelona

  1. This one keeps jumping into my head today:
    20. honesty that doesn’t depend on timing, but just is

    I would so love to know what this means to you. I keep trying to put meaning to it in the context of my own life, but can’t quite figure it out. I only ask because I feel like you’ve unlocked some crazy secret to the Universe and I want to know what it is. (:

    • It’s hard for me to wrap my mind around exactly what I mean, too. I think it’s that I’m craving the company of people who are who they are & say what they mean without paying too much attention to the impression it’ll give. Not that they’re jerks or anything, but that they’re authentically themselves without trying to be in control of people’s reactions to them. They aren’t orchestrating the outcome. Does that make sense?

      Some people drop profound insights based on *particular timing* and it lends itself to the *appearance* of honesty, but it’s really a tricky way of saying what the other person wants to hear – controlling what the other person thinks of them – while not saying other things that are actually more honest and authentic.

      I might be working myself into a loop right now. It doesn’t make as much sense when I verbalize it, but it’s a feeling I get when I’m around people who are being true without any other motives.

      • Oh, I know exactly what you mean. There are people who do this all the time and people who do this in moments of insecurity or when they’re trying to distract you from the things they’re ashamed of. I’m sure I’ve done it, when trying to show someone the thing I think they’ll like best about me, trying to get them to ignore the things they may not (likely, the things I don’t like about myself). And even if what you’re saying is technically the truth, the *intention* of your words in that moment can affect just how honest you’re being.

Leave a Reply

