The snacks I eat (and lie about)

I usually eat fairly healthy. I like to tell people I eat vegetarian 75% of the time, and I’m also a fan of whole foods: fruits, veggies, whole grains, options that are unprocessed.

Don’t get me wrong, I do have a sweet tooth. And I’m not above satisfying my indulgences. So, mixed in with the healthy eating, you’ll also find me enjoying my fair share of cookies and quesadillas and burgers and pizza, though I do try to make informed choices when I eat those, too.

Food is fuel, and I think I treat my body well most of the time.

BUT.

I also have a terrible secret.

I’m moderately obsessed with trying (maybe only once! sometimes more …) the grossest snack items sold at convenience stores.

Hand me a circus peanut. I want a bite.

Let me see the Cheese Whiz. I want to try it on top of a Cheez-It cracker.

Does that apple pie (with its plastic-y frosting coating) taste better than the pink Sno Ball (covered in rubbery coconut flakes)?

This is a Sno Ball. Disgusting. But tempting.

This is a Sno Ball. Disgusting. But tempting, somehow.

I don’t know what my problem is.

Actually, I do. My mom banned junk food when I was growing up, and, so, naturally, I’ve always had a fascination with it. I don’t want to stuff my face with it – that’s a surefire way for me to feel real sick real fast – but I just want a little taste. Something to satisfy my sweet tooth/salt tooth/curiosity.

I think I sort of hit a new low today, though. You know it’s bad when the Plaid Pantry clerk derides your snack choices.

He said, all serious-like with a look of disgust on his face, “You really like cheese … and salt, huh?”

I’m embarrassed to admit I bought Jalapeno Cheddar Combos (I can hear you groaning), as just one snack of three. (The other two were no better choices: Cheddar & Sour Cream Kettle chips and spicy-salsa-flavored almonds.)

Jalapeno Cheddar Combos. So, so wrong.

Jalapeno Cheddar Combos. So, so wrong.

In my defense, I’ve never had Combos before. I was really curious.

Also, I hate to say this, but I kind of liked them.  (I refuse to look at the ingredients. I am sure they are filled with trans fats and horrible chemicals that I can’t pronounce and enough sodium to last me a week.)

At least I got it out of my system, right? Maybe?

I feel thoroughly shamed by the Plaid Pantry dude that I’ll likely only buy bottled water and unsalted almonds in there from now on.

And now I’m going to hit the gym and see what kind of fuel Combos provides (hint: I’m sure it’s not good).

Leave a Reply

