jelly legs

Woah, nelly. Did I expect my legs to be so sore after Sunday’s track workout? I did not. It was a combined 4.5 miles, but it felt like so much more the next day. Is that a good sign? I’d like to think I was lifting my knees and doing a quicker turnover, and that’s why I was sore. Right? …

Monday’s workout: nada

I had plans with friends after work so I knew I’d have to do a workout in the morning, if at all, and I didn’t really plan for it. So, hello lazy day (and wine).

Tuesday’s workout: an hour of Physique 57

I bought the 30-min and one-hour DVD online (on sale) a couple months ago, and I do the workouts in my living room about once a week (looking a fool), whenever I’m not feeling like the gym — or when it seems too ugly out for a run. I can’t exactly say I love this workout, but I keep coming back to it. I do like how my thighs burn, and some of the ab work feels like it’s whittling my waist. I can’t say that I notice a huge difference, though, and I don’t really break a sweat. (How come I don’t look like the super toned ladies in their testimonials?!) So … I’m perhaps not pushing myself hard enough, or maybe I just need to accept that it’s for muscle burn and not geared toward cardio.

Guess what arrived in the mail today?

Go ahead & tell me my hair looks really long. I will thank you profusely.

ShowerPill wipes that I ordered online … and Stevia packets from my mom! It’s the little things, friends.

ShowerPills are great for when you’ve worked out and aren’t showering straight after (on a race day, or when you go jogging and then meet friends for drinks … cough, cough). And Stevia is how I’ve broken my Splenda addiction. And, even then, I don’t use Stevia that often anymore either. (It’s major progress from my 5-7 Splendas per day obsession of a few years ago. I read too many articles that scared me off of it for good.)

The verdict on this week’s workouts so far? Too easy. And a little dull. I’m going to try to kick it up a notch tomorrow.

How’s your week going?

Leave a Reply

